See

Jewelers routes

06 April 2016

Chinese watches at the Patek Philippe Museum in Geneva

Opened in November 2001, this museum exhibits the private collection of the Stern family (the current owner of Patek Philippe), and it’s one of the finest in the world. So, among more than 2,000 wonders, let’s look at the watches known as “Chinese”.

 

 

European horology’s links with China are not new. It may seem surprising but they date back to Louis IX, and went from strength to strength up until the mid-eighteenth century. Watches made in Geneva or London were at that time, particularly popular at the imperial court in Beijing. Called “Chinese”, they display the extraordinary expertise of European watchmakers, goldsmiths, enamellers and engravers like Piguet & Meylan, Bovet, William Anthony and James Cox. The dials are richly decorated, enameled and some are set with pearls, a symbol of happiness. Religious motifs like the Virgin or the halo have disappeared in favor of mythological scenes inspired by paintings of such artists as Vigee-Lebrun. They are integrated into flower-shaped cases and perfume bottles in gold, silver, diamond and moss agate. Some watches are even fitted with chimes or automatons.

 

Even more surprising is that most of these watches came in pairs. They were identical or even had reversed decorations. Why? It still remains a mystery for historians today. Some feel that it was simply an attraction to symmetry. Others believe that one may have replaced the other in the case of repairs. Given that at that time it may have taken months or even years for a watch to make the Geneva-Canton round trip, Canton being the only place in China where foreign goods could be imported. The watches were loaded onto sampans and transported down the Pearl River to Macao where they were then taken on board English and French ships. From the mid-nineteenth century onwards, with the Opium Wars, the sacking of the Summer Palace and then the Boxer Rebellion, the watches were eventually sold separately, lost, damaged or stolen. Today, the “Chinese” watches in the Patek Philippe Museum – more than twenty pairs and a dozen single pieces – feature among its rarest treasures.

More than a century later, they provide a rich echo to the contemporary models produced for Asian clients today.

Most popular articles

Crédit Municipal: discreet but surprisingly powerful

In 2020, a hundred auctions of antique or pre-owned jewelry and watches at the Crédit Municipal in Paris generated over 10.6 million euros. By...

The rings of the Serenissima

Around the year 1000, the Doge is said to have thrown a gold ring into the waters of the lagoon for the first time, pronouncing his words: “We marry you,...

The Pala d'Oro in St. Mark's Basilica with Alberto Nardi

Concealed behind the high altar, this sumptuously refined piece of goldwork was commissioned from Constantinople craftsmen in 916, when the city was the...

The Georges Fouquet store at the Musée Carnavalet

Shored up by the success of his jewelry created by Mucha for the 1900 Universal Exhibition, Fouquet asked the famous Czech artist to design his new store at...

5 reasons to go bargain-hunting at Les Merveilles de Babellou

Les Merveilles de Babellou is not the place for half-measures: extravagance and theatricality are the watchwords. A piece has to make a splash, it has to...

150 years ago, when the Vendôme column fell...

At that time, no jewelers were established in Place Vendôme – except Gabriel Lemonnier, official jeweler to Napoleon III.

Itinéraires joailliers

06 avril 2016

Les montres chinoises du musée Patek Philippe, à Genève

Inauguré en novembre 2001, ce musée présente la collection privée de la famille Stern (actuel propriétaire de Patek Philippe), l’une des plus belles au monde. Parmi plus de 2 000 merveilles, attardons-nous sur les montres dites « chinoises ».

Les liens de l’horlogerie européenne avec la Chine ne datent pas d’hier… C’est surprenant : ils remontent à Louis IX pour atteindre leur apogée au XVIIIe siècle. Les montres fabriquées à Genève ou à Londres sont alors particulièrement appréciées à la cour impériale de Pékin. Dites « chinoises », elles témoignent de l’extraordinaire savoir-faire des horlogers, orfèvres, émailleurs et graveurs européens comme Piguet & Meylan, Bovet, William Anthony, James Cox. Les cadrans sont richement décorés, émaillés, sertis de perles, symbole de bonheur. Les motifs religieux comme la Vierge ou l’auréole disparaissent au profit de scènes mythologiques ou inspirées par des tableaux de peintres comme Vigée-Lebrun. Ils sont intégrés dans des boîtiers en forme de fleurs, des flacons à parfum en or, argent, diamant et en agate herborisée. Certaines montres sont dotées de carillons ou d’automates.

Encore plus surprenant : la plupart de ces montres vont par deux. Elles sont identiques ou à décor inversé. Pourquoi ? C’est encore un mystère pour les historiens. Certains estiment qu’il s’agit d’une simple attirance pour la symétrie. D’autres pensent qu’il s’agissait de remplacer l’une par l’autre au cas où il faudrait la renvoyer pour réparation. Car à l’époque, il faut des mois, voire des années, pour faire un aller-retour Canton-Genève, seul endroit en Chine où l’on peut importer des marchandises étrangères. Les montres sont chargées sur des sampans qui remontent alors la rivière des Perles jusqu’à Macao où elles embarquent sur des navires anglais et français. Aujourd’hui, ces montres « chinoises » du musée Patek Philippe (plus de vingt paires et une douzaine de pièces uniques) font figure de trésors rarissimes : à partir du milieu du XIXe siècle, avec les guerres de l’opium, le sac du palais d’Été ou encore la révolte des Boxers, les montres sont vendues séparément, perdues, abîmées ou volées.

Plus d’un siècle plus tard, elles font incroyablement écho aux modèles contemporains destinés aux clients asiatiques.

Articles les plus lus

Le Crédit Municipal, un acteur discret mais étonnamment puissant

En 2020, les ventes de bijoux et de montres anciens ou pre-owned du Crédit Municipal ont généré plus de 10,6 millions d’euros.

Venise ou la Sérénissime des anneaux

Aux environ de l’an 1000, le doge aurait jeté pour la première fois une bague en or dans les eaux de la lagune en prononçant ses mots : « Nous...

La Pala d’Oro de la basilique Saint Marc avec Alberto Nardi

Dissimulé derrière le maître-hôtel, ce retable en or, en pierres précieuses et en perles a été commandé aux artisans de Constantinople en 916. Quand...

La boutique Georges Fouquet au musée Carnavalet

Porté par le succès ses bijoux dessinés par Mucha, Georges Fouquet demande à l’artiste tchèque de concevoir sa nouvelle boutique du 6 rue Royale, en...

5 raisons d’aller chiner aux Merveilles de Babellou

Ici, pas de sélection en demi-teinte : extravagance et théâtralité sont les critères de choix d’Isabelle Klein. Il faut qu’une pièce claque,...

Il y a 150 ans, quand la colonne Vendôme était à terre...

À l’époque, aucun joaillier n’a pignon sur la place Vendôme. Excepté Gabriel Lemonnier, le joaillier officiel de Napoléon III.