L'invité

15 May 2017

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” – The installation

A few days before the opening of the “Medusa” exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and Michèle Heuzé. Around them, the 400 jewels of this exhibition were being positioned in the display cabinets …

This film on the “Medusa” exhibition inaugurates my digital partnership with the Museum of Modern Art in Paris. Texts, videos, photos will become available on all the french jewelry post’s media outlets. There, I will uncover the story of one piece or the scandal around another, reveal known and unknown designers to the general public, and share the thoughts and views of visitors to make this exhibition, in collaboration with the Museum of Modern Art, a place of exchange and enjoyment.

Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos at Paris’s Museum of Modern Art from May 19th to November 5th, 2017.

 


 

Anne Dressen, curator

This exhibition came about at the time when I was preparing the Decorum exhibition on carpets and tapestries. I realized that there were many artists involved in textile design who had also produced jewelry. The starting point is really this interest the artists brought to these objects without their necessarily having a place in a museum or contemporary art gallery like our’s.

 

Benjamin Lignel, scientific adviser

We liked the idea of creating an interaction between jewelry pieces that wouldn’t normally be found together, by putting objects together in the same showcase that come from fashion, or contemporary craftwork, or high jewelry. This is a way of playing with the codes and conventions that are different for each one, and this sometimes creates a tension that’s interesting, which enables us to better understand how people perceive and imagine themselves with the jewelry. There are different types of jewelry and one thing that’s interesting for me in this exhibition is to put pieces together that don’t know each other and sometimes completely ignore each other.

 

Michèle Heuzé, scientific adviser

My role is to have a transversal view; this exhibition is not one period, so to give meaning and sense to the jewelry to have an intention. This intention is not fixed on one period or a style, but is from prehistoric times until today. And that is the strength of this exhibition.

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

Viren Bhagat, a Bombay jeweler

In Bombay, I met with the only contemporary Indian jeweler represented in the exceptional Al Thani collection presented at the Grand Palais.

L'invité

15 mai 2017

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » – L’installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques, Benjamin Lignel et Michèle Heuzé. Autour d’eux, on installe les 400 bijoux dans les vitrines…

Ce film inaugure mon partenariat digital avec le musée d’Art moderne de Paris, le temps de l’exposition « Medusa ». Textes, vidéos, photos… Sur l’ensemble des médias de the french jewelry post, je vais révéler l’histoire d’une pièce ou le scandale provoqué par une autre. Interviewer un designer connu ou inconnu du grand public. Partager le point de vue de visiteurs. Faisant de cette exposition, en collaboration avec le musée d’Art moderne, un lieu d’échange et un terrain de jeu. En toute liberté.

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous », au musée d’Art moderne de Paris du 19 mai au 5 novembre 2017.

 


 

Anne Dressen, commissaire

Cette exposition est née au moment où je préparais « Decorum », cette exposition autour du tapis et des tapisseries. Je me suis rendu compte qu’énormément d’artistes qui s’étaient intéressés aux textiles avaient aussi fait des bijoux. Le point de départ, c’est vraiment cet intérêt que les artistes portent à ces objets, sans qu’ils aient nécessairement de place dans un musée d’art moderne et contemporain comme le nôtre.

 

Benjamin Lignel, conseiller scientifique

On a aimé faire dialoguer des bijoux qui d’habitude ne se rencontrent pas, et donc mettre dans la même vitrine des choses qui viennent de la mode ou de l’artisanat contemporain, de la haute joaillerie, qui sont des manières de jouer des codes et des conventions qui sont à chaque fois un peu différents, et parfois, ça permet de créer des dialogues qui sont un peu en tension, qui sont intéressants, et qui permettent de peut-être mieux comprendre, justement, comment les gens perçoivent, s’imaginent le bijou. Il y a différents types de bijoux, et pour moi, une des choses intéressantes dans cette exposition, c’est de faire se rencontrer des bijoux qui ne se connaissent pas et qui parfois s’ignorent volontairement.

 

Michèle Heuzè, conseillère scientifique

Mon rôle dans cette exposition est d’avoir un regard aussi transversal : cette exposition n’est pas sur une période, mais c’est donner du sens et donner un langage aux bijoux, pour avoir un propos. Et donc ce propos ne se conjugue pas sur une période, un style, mais de la Préhistoire à nos jours. Et ça, ça va être la force aussi de cette exposition.

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...

Viren Bhagat, joaillier de Bombay

À Bombay, j’ai rencontré le seul joaillier contemporain indien figurant dans l’exceptionnelle collection Al Thani, présentée au Grand Palais.