See

L'invité

27 June 2017

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has established herself as a major figure in jewelry.

 

The signature piece

This “Orchid” necklace is one of the 80 pieces produced each year for her in the Parisian workshops, and it’s the ultimate reference of Feng. J’s jewelry mastery. The focal point of the pendant is its unheated central sapphire of more than 11 carats, and its intense purple-blue color attracts like a magnet. This piece makes almost no reference to any other jewelry brand’s style from the past. Around it, an exceptionally rich strata of materials takes form: the voluptuousness of the flower is metaphorized by superimposed pistils and petals in carved jade, diamonds and titanium with an unheard-of lightness. From first glance, the level of technical prowess resounds with the power of the design. The tentacle-like petals bend gracefully to evoke the wings of a butterfly or a bird. In these pictures, the AlmaKarina duo creates an atmosphere that only further amplifies and sublimates the mysterious, almost disturbing power of the jewelry piece.

 

21st century high jewelry

Originating from a family of great art collectors and a long forgotten Chinese jewelry tradition, Feng. J invents the jewelry of the future. For those who seek minimalism, you won’t find it here… On the mutant orchids and hybrid birds there are no flat areas of color or metal, everything is worked in detail, set, intertwined, chiseled, or covered with stones. Each detail is mastered. Diamonds, jade, sapphires and rubies form individual points of color, interact optically and create shimmering effects of light. A jewelry and digital version of the pointillism set in motion by the painter Seurat, a reference for this young woman whose ancestor was a painter of the Chinese imperial family. The precision effect resembles high definition where aesthetic research flirts with technical challenge, and the virtuosity of artisans with virtuality. Somewhat like a contemporary art sculpture by the likes of Damien Hirst or Jeff Koons.

 

The JAR of the future?

This American designer, renowned for his perfect mastery of color and his ability to push the boundaries of creation, is a model for Feng. J. To achieve a level of perfection and reputation comparable to this “Da Vinci of jewelry’s”, she has done the groundwork. A former graduate of the Academy of Fine Arts in London, she who now shares her time between Shanghai and Paris has taken courses at Gübelin, a prestigious Swiss gemological laboratory specializing in colored stones, and at the BJOP school that has been training the jewelry industry for 150 years. She also spent some time in the studio of the English designer Alexander McQueen and thus finds herself propelled alongside such designers as Wallace Chan and Cindy Chao, the first two Chinese designers to have found recognition and notoriety in Europe. Such a bright start for a house launched only last year in 2016.

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

Viren Bhagat, a Bombay jeweler

In Bombay, I met with the only contemporary Indian jeweler represented in the exceptional Al Thani collection presented at the Grand Palais.

L'invité

27 juin 2017

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng. J est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30 ans, cette créatrice chinoise s’impose comme une figure incontournable.

 

La pièce signature

Ce collier « Orchidée » fait partie des 80 pièces produites par an dans ses ateliers parisiens, la référence absolue en matière de savoir-faire pour Feng. J. Le saphir central non chauffé de plus de 11 carats est le point focal du pendentif, l’intensité de sa couleur bleu violet agissant comme un aimant. Il ne fait référence à aucune époque, à aucun bijou du passé griffé. Autour de lui, s’organisent des strates de matières d’une richesse exceptionnelle : la volupté de la fleur est métaphorisée par une superposition de pistils et de pétales en jade sculpté, en diamants ou en titane d’une légèreté inouïe. Au premier coup d’œil, le niveau de technicité fait écho à la puissance du design. Les pétales tentaculaires se courbant avec grâce évoquent les ailes d’un papillon ou d’un oiseau. Sur les photos, l’atmosphère créée par le duo AlmaKarina ne fait qu’amplifier et sublimer la puissance mystérieuse, presque inquiétante, du bijou.

 

La haute joaillerie du XXIe siècle

Issue d’une famille de grands collectionneurs d’art et d’une longue tradition joaillière chinoise oubliée, Feng. J invente la joaillerie du futur. Adeptes du minimalisme, passez votre chemin… Sur ses orchidées mutantes et ses oiseaux hybridés, aucun à-plat de couleur ou de métal. Tout est extrêmement travaillé, serti, entremêlé, ciselé, empierré. Chaque détail est maîtrisé. Diamants, jade, saphirs et rubis forment des points individuels de couleur, inter-réagissant optiquement et créant des vibrations de lumière. Une version joaillière et digitale du pointillisme lancé par le peintre Seurat, référence de la jeune femme dont l’un des ancêtres était peintre de la famille impériale chinoise. L’effet de précision s’apparente à de la haute définition. La recherche esthétique flirte avec le défi technique, la virtuosité des artisans avec la virtualité. Comme une sculpture d’art contemporain de Damien Hirst ou de Jeff Koons.

 

La JAR du futur ?

Ce créateur américain, réputé pour sa maîtrise parfaite des couleurs et sa capacité à repousser les limites de la création, est le modèle de Feng. J. Pour tendre vers la perfection et la réputation de ce « Da Vinci de la joaillerie », elle a multiplié les expériences. Diplômée de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Londres, celle qui partage aujourd’hui son temps entre Shanghai et Paris a d’abord suivi des cours au Gübelin, prestigieux laboratoire gemmologique suisse spécialisé dans les pierres de couleurs, ainsi qu’à l’école BJOP formant aux métiers de la joaillerie depuis 150 ans. Celle qui est également passée par le studio du créateur anglais Alexander McQueen se trouve ainsi propulsée aux côtés de Wallace Chan et de Cindy Chao, les deux premiers créateurs chinois à avoir trouvé reconnaissance et notoriété en Europe. Des débuts aussi fulgurants que prometteurs pour une maison lancée l’année dernière, en 2016.

Articles les plus lus

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...

Viren Bhagat, joaillier de Bombay

À Bombay, j’ai rencontré le seul joaillier contemporain indien figurant dans l’exceptionnelle collection Al Thani, présentée au Grand Palais.

Krishna Choudhary, joaillier de Jaipur

Dans son showroom installé dans un haveli du XVIIIe siècle, le joaillier Krishna Choudhary commente quelques portraits de princes indiens et revient sur...