L'invité

03 April 2017

Mucha’s Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his collaboration with the jeweler Georges Fouquet.

 

Mucha and Sarah Bernhardt

As a successful illustrator in the early 1890s, Mucha began collaborating with the actress Sarah Bernhardt. For the poster of Gismonda he represents her in her stage costume decorated with curving designs and floral and oriental elements. For Lorenzaccio, she wears around her neck a large necklace whose designs echo the brocade of the costume, while on the poster for Mélissinde Mucha portrays her wearing a diadem with precious stones and pearls surmounted by a star. Her bodice features circular jewelry designs with pearls and gems in pastel shades.

 

Jewel allegories

Mucha created advertising posters and decorative designs that included Zodiac and Byzantine Heads. The intricate hair ornaments the young women wear are abound with details and testify to Mucha’s rich imagination in the field of jewelry. For the art magazine La Plume, Mucha once again represented these ornaments mainly composed of large discs set with colored stones and fitted with chains. These precious ornaments contributed to the creation of his allegorical figures, those timeless and poetic personifications of such abstract notions as Music or Painting from “The Arts” series, with vegetal and mineral elements like Iris or Primrose from the “Flowers” series, and Ruby and Amethyst from the “Precious Gemstones” series.

 

Mucha and Fouquet

One of the major pieces by Mucha was commissioned by Georges Fouquet for Sarah Bernhardt in 1898. It is a serpentine bracelet with a fine chain that connects it to a ring. It is the interpretation of the one Sarah Bernhardt wears while striking a pose as the tragic heroine for the poster for Médée. Mucha’s collaboration with Fouquet intensified around the time of the Universal Exhibition of 1900, with creations made with such materials as enamel, gold, mother-of-pearl, semi-precious stones and chains. They take up the elements of his aesthetic vocabulary, in particular the arabesques and the female figures whose long interwoven hair echoes the fabrics and the vegetal and oriental motifs, to form pendants, bodice pins, brooches and rings. A 1908 reinterpretation is found on his poster for the play Kassa where the American actress Leslie Carter wears a bodice pin whose medallion once again takes the enamel feminine figures made with Fouquet.

 

Fouquet’s boutique

In 1901, Mucha opened a new jewelry boutique at 6, rue Royale, which Henri Vever described as a “sumptuous installation of unprecedented and refined elegance” (see La Bijouterie française au XIXe siècle). The boutique, itself appearing much like a real work of art, was a manifesto to his fine aesthetics. On its facade ten medallions portraying female figures framed a bronze bas-relief depicting a young woman holding long and imposing pendants in her hands. In 1923, the decorative elements designed by Mucha were removed and Fouquet gave them to the Carnavalet Museum, where a reconstitution of the boutique can be seen today.

 

The Documents décoratifs

In the seventy-two designs published in 1902 in the Documents décoratifs, Mucha represented studies of feminine figures and plants, as well as drawings of decorative objects which appear as progressions of previous studies. Among these objects, which include furniture, dishes and wallpaper, are many jewels, some of which were produced with Fouquet and thus obtain a life of there own.

 

By Suzy Piat

 

Banner picture: “Rêverie” (detail), 1898 © Mucha Trust

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Viren Bhagat, a Bombay jeweler

In Bombay, I met with the only contemporary Indian jeweler represented in the exceptional Al Thani collection presented at the Grand Palais.

L'invité

03 avril 2017

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à sa collaboration avec le bijoutier Georges Fouquet.

 

Mucha et Sarah Bernhardt

Alors qu’il connaît le succès avec ses illustrations au début des années 1890, Mucha entame une collaboration avec la comédienne Sarah Bernhardt pour l’affiche de Gismonda. Il la représente en costume et déploie courbes, éléments floraux et orientaux. Pour Lorenzaccio, Mucha dessine autour de son cou un large collier dont les motifs font écho au brocart du costume tandis que sur l’affiche Sarah Bernhardt en Mélissinde, Mucha la pare d’un diadème en pierres précieuses et perles surmonté d’une étoile. Son corsage est couvert d’une parure de perles et de gemmes aux teintes pastel formant des motifs circulaires.

 

Parures d’allégories

Mucha réalise des affiches publicitaires et des panneaux décoratifs, parmi lesquels Zodiaque et Têtes byzantines. Les ornements de cheveux complexes portés par les jeunes femmes foisonnent de détails et témoignent de l’importante imagination de Mucha dans le domaine de la joaillerie. Pour la revue d’art La Plume, Mucha représente à nouveau ces ornements, principalement composés de larges disques sertis de pierres colorées et garnis de chaînes. Ces parures précieuses participent à la création de figures allégoriques : des personnifications intemporelles et poétiques de différentes entités abstraites telles que La Musique ou La Peinture (série « Les Arts »), ainsi que d’éléments végétaux et minéraux comme L’Iris (série « Les Fleurs »), Le Rubis et L’Améthyste (série « Les Pierres précieuses ») ou encore Primevère.

 

Mucha et Fouquet

L’une des pièces majeures de Mucha, commandée par Georges Fouquet pour Sarah Bernhardt, date de 1898. Il s’agit d’un bracelet en forme de serpent assorti d’une fine chaîne qui le relie à une bague. Il est l’interprétation de celui porté par Sarah Bernhardt grimée en héroïne tragique sur l’affiche de Médée. La collaboration de Mucha avec Fouquet s’intensifie lors de l’Exposition universelle de 1900, avec des créations réalisées dans des matériaux tels que l’émail, l’or et la nacre, garnies de chaînes et de pierres semi-précieuses. Elles reprennent les éléments de son vocabulaire esthétique, notamment les arabesques, les figures féminines aux longs cheveux dont les entrelacs font écho à ceux des étoffes et les motifs végétaux et orientaux, pour former des pendentifs, des agrafes de corsage, des broches, des bagues… Dont on retrouve une réinterprétation en 1908, sur son affiche pour la pièce Kassa : la comédienne américaine Leslie Carter porte une agrafe de corsage dont le médaillon semble reprendre les figures féminines en émail réalisées avec Fouquet.

 

La boutique de Fouquet

En 1901, Mucha conçoit la nouvelle boutique du bijoutier, au 6, rue Royale, décrite par Henri Vever comme une « installation somptueuse et d’une élégance inédite et raffinée » (cf. La Bijouterie française au XIXe siècle). La boutique, s’assimilant à une véritable œuvre d’art, est un manifeste de son esthétique : sur la façade, dix médaillons laissant voir des figures féminines encadrent un bas-relief en bronze représentant une jeune femme, tenant dans ses mains de longs et imposants pendentifs. En 1923, les éléments décoratifs réalisés par Mucha sont enlevés avant d’être donnés par Fouquet au musée Carnavalet, où l’on peut actuellement voir une reconstitution de la boutique.

 

Les Documents décoratifs

Dans les soixante-douze planches des Documents décoratifs, publiés en 1902, Mucha représente des études de figures féminines et de motifs végétaux, ainsi que des dessins d’objets décoratifs dont l’aspect découle des études précédentes. Parmi ces objets, dans lesquels on compte du mobilier, de la vaisselle ou encore du papier peint, se trouvent de nombreux bijoux, dont certains purent être réalisés avec Fouquet et ainsi obtenir une existence en propre.

 

Par Suzy Piat

 

Image en bannière : « Rêverie » (détail), 1898 © Mucha Trust

Articles les plus lus

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Viren Bhagat, joaillier de Bombay

À Bombay, j’ai rencontré le seul joaillier contemporain indien figurant dans l’exceptionnelle collection Al Thani, présentée au Grand Palais.

Krishna Choudhary, joaillier de Jaipur

Dans son showroom installé dans un haveli du XVIIIe siècle, le joaillier Krishna Choudhary commente quelques portraits de princes indiens et revient sur...