23 March 2017

Al Thani collection, mixed influences

From March 29th to June 5th 2017, the Grand Palais will present “From the Great Mughals to the Maharajahs. Jewels from the Al Thani collection”, an exhibition that traces more than five centuries of Indian jewelry history and that also shows the influences both India and the West had on each other’s jewelry creations.

 

The exhibition

This exhibition features 278 pieces ranging from jewelry to inkwells, daggers and sprinklers, mostly belonging to wealthy Indian princes. Among the jewels are such wonders as the engraved emerald of the Mughal Emperor Shâh Jahân, the turban-aigrette of the Nawanagar Maharaja made up of seventeen diamonds for a weight of more than 150 carats and the peacock brooch made by the French jeweler Mellerio. The turban ornament with its spectacular cognac diamond and the necklace of the maharaja Patiala with its innumerable rows of diamonds are lent by Cartier, to whom they belong today. All these pieces testify to sumptuousness unique in the history of jewelry and the ancestral mixing of India and Europe creative cultures.

 

One exhibition, two men

A total of 266 pieces in the exhibition come from eight years of collecting by Sheikh Hamad Ben Abdullah Al Thani, a member of the Qatari family which owns the Lambert Hotel in Paris. It all began as a result of his visit to an exhibition at the Victoria and Albert Museum in 2009 where he fell in love with the jewels of Mughal emperors of Muslim culture, who ruled India from the sixteenth century to the mid-nineteenth century. To gather more than 300 pieces in such a short time, the Sheikh called upon the services of Amin Jaffer, an Indian born in Rwanda who was a curator at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London for thirteen years and who went on to head Christie’s Asian Art Department for ten years. “We met at the opening of the Doha Museum. Then for three years we exchanged and visited museums together,” explains Amin Jaffer, the conservator of the collection today.

 

India, the cradle of flamboyant jeweler

India is intimately linked to jewelry. The country has been known since ancient times for its incredible reserves of rubies, sapphires, amethysts, spinels and diamonds extracted from the mines of Golconda which are some of the most beautiful ever seen. Since the fifteenth century, India has also spawned the most glorious sovereigns, dazzling dynasties of Mughal emperors, flamboyant maharajas and nizams. They had created and sported the most beautiful jewels ever made of which few have survived political turbulence and whose only trace remains in Indian miniatures. Hence the inestimable character of this collection.

 

On one side, the European influence

During ceremonies the Indian princes observed English aristocrats like Lady Curzon, corseted in their dresses and adorned with diamond creations signed Boucheron and Cartier. At the same time they increasingly visited Europe. So much so that at the end of the nineteenth century the signs of a mixing of jewelry styles became apparent. On their royal finery platinum replaced the sacred gold in use, the regular facets of the brilliant cut prevailed over the simple polished stones that preserved the weight of the stone. The kundan, a technique of setting inherited from the Mughals, gave way to claw settings. On their spectacular jewelry pieces, en tremblant elements and knots, both typical of the Victorian era, were both to be found.

 

On the other side, the influence of the maharajas

Maharajas’ orders largely contributed to the international reputation of French jewelers and also served to attract customers from all over the world. They also enormously stimulated their creativity. These influences were reflected in the colors, designs and techniques of which Cartier’s “Tutti Frutti” was the most emblematic example when in 1925, the jeweler created a sensation with its assemblages of stones in primary colors. Sapphires, emeralds and rubies fashioned in the Mughal tradition, that is to say, in the form of smooth balls, engraved or cut into leaves and flowers, were set in an interlacing of branches which at first glance recalls the green, red, blue and white polychromes of Indian enamels.

 

Contemporary exoticism

The exhibition ends with contemporary jewelry by the Indian jeweler, Viren Bhagat, and the American, Joel Arthur Rosenthal (JAR), acquired by Sheikh Hamad Ben Abdullah Al Thani. The twelve pieces by Viren Bhagat display no profusion of color, enamel or traditional kundan gold settings. They are hybrids of Mughal architectural elements taken from ancient manuscripts, pompons and Paisley patterns with the clean, geometric lines of Parisian Art Deco. The exhibition provides a rare occasion to admire pieces by JAR. With the exacting sense of detail that characterizes the designer’s work, they take the head of an elephant carved in cacholong, the domes of mosques and mashrabiya designs.

 

The favored means of international communication and exchanges by Internet haven’t succeeded in dulling the fantasies of India and the mixing of influences and styles.

Most popular articles

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

Contemporary art in the “Medusa” exhibition

Around twenty works of contemporary art set the pace of the “Medusa”exhibition, helping to break the clichés linked to the jewel of the “too precious”, the...

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

23 mars 2017

Collection Al Thani, influences croisées

Du 29 mars au 5 juin 2017, le Grand Palais présente « Des grands Moghols aux Maharajahs. Joyaux indiens de la collection Al Thani », une exposition qui retrace plus de cinq siècles d’histoire de la joaillerie indienne et montre l’influence réciproque avec celle d’Occident.

 

L’exposition

Cette exposition est composée de 278 pièces (allant des bijoux aux encriers en passant par les dagues et les aspersoirs), ayant pour la plupart appartenu aux richissimes princes indiens. Parmi les bijoux figurent des merveilles comme l’émeraude gravée de l’empereur moghol Shâh Jahân, le turban-aigrette du maharadja Nawanagar formé de dix-sept diamants pour un poids de plus de 150 carats ou encore la broche paon réalisée par le joaillier français Mellerio. L’ornement de turban avec son spectaculaire diamant cognac et le collier du maharadja de Patiala avec ses innombrables rangs de diamants ont, eux, été prêtés par Cartier, à qui ils appartiennent aujourd’hui. Toutes ces pièces témoignent d’une somptuosité unique dans l’histoire de la joaillerie et de métissages ancestraux entre l’Inde et l’Europe.

 

Une exposition, deux hommes

En tout, 266 pièces de l’exposition proviennent de la collection constituée en huit ans par le Cheikh Hamad Ben Abdullah Al Thani, membre de la famille qatari propriétaire de l’hôtel Lambert à Paris. Tout a commencé à la suite de sa visite à une exposition au Victoria and Albert Museum, en 2009, où il a le coup de foudre pour les bijoux des empereurs moghols de culture musulmane (qui dirigèrent l’Inde du XVIe siècle au milieu du XIXe siècle). Pour réunir plus de 300 pièces en si peu de temps, le Cheikh s’est attribué les services d’Amin Jaffer. Un Indien né au Rwanda qui fut conservateur au Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres pendant treize ans puis directeur du département des Arts asiatiques de Christie’s pendant dix ans. « Nous nous sommes rencontrés lors de l’ouverture du musée de Doha. Puis pendant trois ans nous avons échangé et visité des musées ensemble », explique Amin Jaffer, aujourd’hui conservateur de la collection.

 

L’Inde, berceau d’une joaillerie flamboyante

L’Inde est intimement liée à la joaillerie. Le pays est connu depuis l’Antiquité pour ses réserves incroyables de rubis, de saphirs, d’améthystes, de spinelles et de diamants extraits des mines de Golconde. Les plus beaux que l’on n’ait jamais vus. Depuis le XVe siècle, l’Inde a aussi engendré les souverains les plus fastueux, des dynasties éblouissantes d’empereurs moghols, de maharadjas flamboyants, de nizams. Ils ont imaginé et arboré les plus beaux joyaux jamais réalisés dont peu ont survécu aux turbulences politiques et dont la seule trace est constituée par les miniatures. D’où le caractère inestimable de cette collection.

 

D’un côté, l’influence européenne

Dans les cérémonies, les princes indiens observent les aristocrates anglaises comme Lady Curzon, corsetées dans leurs robes et parées des créations en diamants signées Boucheron et Cartier. Dans le même temps, ils multiplient les voyages en Europe. Tant et si bien que dès la fin du XIXe siècle, les signes de métissage joaillier se multiplient. Sur leurs parures royales, le platine remplace l’or sacré en usage, la taille brillant régulière à facettes l’emporte sur le simple polissage qui leur permet de préserver le poids de la pierre. Le kundan, technique de sertissage héritée des Moghols, cède la place aux griffes. On voit aussi apparaître sur leurs bijoux spectaculaires des tremblants et des nœuds, motifs typiques de l’époque victorienne.

 

De l’autre, l’influence des maharadjas

Les commandes des maharadjas ont largement contribué à la renommée internationale des joailliers français et à attirer des clients du monde entier. Elles ont aussi énormément stimulé leur créativité. Les influences se retrouvent dans les couleurs, les motifs et les techniques dont le « Tutti Frutti » de Cartier est l’exemple le plus emblématique : en 1925, le joaillier fait sensation avec ses assemblages de pierres de couleurs primaires. Saphirs, émeraudes et rubis façonnés selon la tradition moghole, c’est-à-dire en forme de boules lisses, gravées ou taillées en feuilles et en fleurs, sont sertis dans un entrelacs de branchages qui rappelle au premier coup d’œil, la polychromie verte, rouge, bleue et blanche de l’émail indien.

 

Exotisme contemporain

L’exposition se termine par les bijoux contemporains du joaillier indien Viren Bhagat et de l’Américain Joel Arthur Rosenthal (JAR) acquis par le Cheikh Hamad Ben Abdullah Al Thani. Les douze pièces de Viren Bhagat n’affichent aucune profusion de couleurs, pas plus que de l’émail ou un traditionnel serti kundan en or. Elles sont des hybridations des éléments architecturaux moghols extraits de manuscrits anciens, du pompon, du motif Paisley (ou palmette) avec les lignes géométriques et nettes de l’Art déco parisien. L’exposition est aussi l’une des rares occasions d’admirer des pièces de JAR. Avec ce sens extrême du détail qui caractérise le travail du créateur, elles reprennent la tête d’éléphant sculptée dans du cacholong, les dômes de mosquées ou les motifs de moucharabiehs.

 

Les moyens de communication et les échanges internationaux favorisés par Internet n’ont pas réussi à tuer les fantasmes de l’Inde et les métissages.

Articles les plus lus

« Touaregs » au musée des Confluences

Cette exposition met en lumière les bijoux de ces tribus nomades du Sahara. Parfois associés à des bijoux de pacotille dans l’imaginaire collectif, ils...

Les œuvres d’art contemporain dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Une vingtaine d’œuvres d’art contemporain rythme l’exposition « Medusa », contribuant à rompre les clichés liés au bijou : le « trop...

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.