21 February 2017

Facial jewelry

Jewelry that decorates the face is not often worn in the street and still remains an avant-garde phenomenon. But for how long?

 

Gold threads held by the ears streak the face and lose themselves in the nostrils. Others split the face in two or form cubes that frame it. In arabesques, they connect the nose to the ears. Jewelry that emphasizes the lips or keeps them apart. By Andrzej Cofta, they escape from mouth in a golden flow. As clips and studs sometimes set with pearls and rhinestones, they adorn the eyebrows and the nose.

 

Dark side

This type of facial jewelry conjures up the underground and marginal worlds of drag queens and punks with their faces pierced with safety pins, or even that of the aficionados of sadomasochistic soirées. The designer, Alexander McQueen, was very fond of them and during his fashion shows we could see spikes as though inlaid in the flesh coming out of the mouths of his mannequins whose lips were apparently sewn together with gold wire. Enough to stop word and breath … In comparison, the false piercings in crystal arranged under the eyes and on the cheeks designed by Riccardo Tisci for Givenchy appear very tame …

 

Repairing the living

In the works of the artist Markus Schinwald, metal structures are added to portraits of nineteenth-century bourgeois figures and evoke prostheses or barbaric systems for repairing malformations. Some create a queasy feeling, as they resemble instruments of torture. The works of the Turkish artist, Burcu Büyükünal, are in the same vein as they twist the cheeks and lift the chin creating deforming folds. The face becomes a theatre of modifications that border on transhumanism.

 

A forerunner, Gijs Bakker

Demonstrating that our identity can be easily changed as well as the way others perceive it was already at the center of Gijs Bakker‘s work as early as the 1960s. One of the best-known pieces by this Dutch industrial designer is the wire structure placed on his wife’s face. Shocking and transgressive, this facial adornment is far from the jewel to investment in or a style that prevailed at the time. For Gijs Bakker it’s much more about experimentation and his conceptual approach remains quite isolated.

 

A new front

Facial jewelry is nowadays more and more frequently found among artists and designers emerging from the Saint Martins School, although it remains mostly unwearable for common mortals. They are more like statements and provocations and have not yet reached commerce or the streets. But they show a desire to break away from the eternal ras-de-cou or even piercings that have today become the custom. There still remains a need to find new directions and to conquer virgin territories. While the hand and its phalanges along with the ears have in recent years been largely annexed, the face itself still remains only partially explored.

 

Jewelry as an introduction

• If the face is perfectly symmetrical, the gold line splits it in two. The duo of Sarah & Sebastian came up with this idea for Dion Lee’s fashion show in 2016, for the Spring collection.

• Nose ring by Delfina Delettrez. Johanne T.’s is topped off with a thin chain that disappears behind the ears like a glasses chain.

• Eyebrow clips by Imme van der Haak.

• Metal elements slipped between the lips by Anika Smulovitz and Andrzej Cofta.

Most popular articles

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

René Lalique in the “Medusa” exhibition

Normally on view in the Jewelry Gallery of Paris’ Museum of Decorative Arts, this “Noisettes” necklace from the early 1920s is one of the major pieces...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The kick-off

I firstly featured the setting up of this exhibition along with the views of its curator, Anne Dressen, and its scientific advisors, Michèle Heuzé and...

21 février 2017

Bijoux de face

Les bijoux qui décorent le visage sont rarement portés dans la rue. Ils constituent encore un phénomène d’avant-garde mais pour combien de temps ?

 

Des fils d’or maintenus par les oreilles strient le visage et se perdent dans les narines. D’autres le scindent en deux ou forment des cubes qui l’encadrent. Comme des arabesques, ils relient le nez aux oreilles. Les bijoux soulignent les lèvres ou les maintiennent écartées. Ils s’en échappent comme des « coulées d’or » chez Andrzej Cofta. Des pinces, parfois serties de perles et de strass, ornent les sourcils et le haut du nez.

 

Dark side

Ces bijoux de face évoquent les univers underground et marginaux des drag-queens, des punks aux visages transpercés d’épingles à nourrice ou encore des adeptes des soirées masochistes. Le créateur Alexander McQueen en était friand : au fil de ses défilés, on a vu des piques semblant incrustées dans la chair, sortir de la bouche des mannequins dont les lèvres étaient apparemment cousues avec du fil d’or. De quoi entraver la parole et la respiration… À côté, les faux piercings en cristal de Riccardo Tisci chez Givenchy, disposées sous les yeux et sur les joues, apparaissent bien sages…

 

Réparer les vivants

Dans le travail de l’artiste Markus Schinwald, les structures en métal ajoutées sur les portraits chinés de personnages bourgeois du XIXe siècle évoquent des prothèses ou des systèmes barbares pour réparer des malformations. Certaines créent un malaise car elles relèvent d’instruments de torture. Celles de la turque Burcu Büyükünal sont dans la même lignée car elles tordent les joues et remontent le menton en créant de mauvais plis. Le visage est le théâtre de modifications qui frôlent le transhumanisme.

 

Un précurseur, Gijs Bakker

Démontrer que notre identité peut être aisément modifiée ainsi que la perception que s’en font les autres était déjà au centre du travail de Gijs Bakker, dès les années 1960. L’une des pièces les plus connues de ce designer industriel hollandais est la structure filaire posée sur le visage de son épouse. Choquante et transgressive, cette parure de visage est alors loin du bijou d’investissement ou d’apparat qui prévaut à l’époque. Gijs Bakker s’inscrit dans le registre de l’expérimentation et sa démarche conceptuelle reste assez isolée.

 

Un nouveau front

Les bijoux de face, aujourd’hui de plus en plus nombreux chez les artistes et designers sortant notamment de la Saint Martins School, restent importables par le commun des mortels. Ils s’apparentent davantage à des manifestes et à des provocations et n’ont pas encore gagné les boutiques, ni la rue. Mais ils montrent une volonté de sortir de l’éternel ras-de-cou ou même du piercing passé dans les mœurs. Il faut trouver de nouvelles pistes et conquérir des territoires vierges. Alors que la main, les phalanges de la main et les oreilles ont ces dernières années, largement été annexées, le visage reste lui quasi inexploré.

 

Des bijoux pour s’initier

• Si le visage est parfaitement symétrique, la ligne en or le séparant en deux. L’idée a été réalisée par le duo Sarah & Sebastian pour le défilé de Dion Lee pour la collection été de 2016.

• La pince de nez déjà adoptée par Delfina Delettrez. Celle de Johanne T. est complétée de chaque côté, par une fine chaîne se perdant derrière les oreilles comme si elles maintenaient des lunettes.

• Les pinces de sourcils de Imme van der Haak.

• Les éléments de métal glissés entre les lèvres de Anika Smulovitz ou Andrzej Cofta.

Articles les plus lus

« Touaregs » au musée des Confluences

Cette exposition met en lumière les bijoux de ces tribus nomades du Sahara. Parfois associés à des bijoux de pacotille dans l’imaginaire collectif, ils...

Les œuvres d’art contemporain dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Une vingtaine d’œuvres d’art contemporain rythme l’exposition « Medusa », contribuant à rompre les clichés liés au bijou : le « trop...

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.